Quarta-feira, 31 de Dezembro de 2008

Galileo Teacher Training

Program: teaching the teachers

The International Year of Astronomy 2009 (IYA2009) provides an excellent opportunity to engage the formal education community in the excitement of astronomical discovery as a vehicle for improving the teaching of science in classrooms around the world. An incredibly rich store of useful astronomy resources is available for such an effort, much of it in digital form and freely available on the internet. However, experienced educators and outreach specialists identify a critical impediment: many teachers lack the training to understand these resources or use them effectively in their curricula.

To address this problem and to sustain the legacy of IYA2009, the IAU - in collaboration with the National Nodes and leaders in the field such as the Global Hands-On Universe project, the US National Optical Astronomy Observatory and the Astronomical Society of the Pacific - is embarking on a unique global effort to empower teachers by developing the Galileo Teacher Training Program (GTTP).

The GTTP goal is to create a worldwide network of certified "Galileo Ambassadors" by 2012. These Ambassadors will train "Galileo Master Teachers" in the effective use and transfer of astronomy education tools and resources into classroom science curricula. The Galileo Teachers will be equipped to train other teachers in these methodologies, leveraging the work begun during IYA2009 in classrooms everywhere. Through workshops, online training tools and basic education kits, the products and techniques developed by this programme can be adapted to reach locations with few resources of their own, as well as computer-connected areas that can take advantage of access to robotic optical and radio telescopes, webcams, astronomy exercises, cross-disciplinary resources, image processing and digital universes (web and desktop planetariums).

 

Task Group 

Rosa Doran (GHOU): rosa.doran@gmail.com (chair) - GHOU / NUCLIO


Task force: Countries

Chile Sergio Cabezón (NRAO): scabezon@nrao.cl
Brazil - Maria de Fátima Oliveira - fatima@if.ufrgs.br
China - Hongfeng Guo -ghf123@yahoo.cn
Colombia - Eliot Abdala - eabdala@juvenia.com.co
France - Roger Ferlet ferlet@iap.fr
Germany - Andreas Kratzer - kratzer@ph.tum.de
Greece - Margarita Metaxa: m-metaxa@otenet.gr
Indonesia - Avivah Yamani -avivahy@gmail.com
Israel - Ido Bareket http://www.bareket-astro.com/contact.php
Italy - Alessandra Zanazzi - zanazzi@cittadellascienza.it
Japan - Toshihiro Handa - handa@mtk.ioa.s.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Kenya - Susan Murabona - smurabana@gmail.com
Morocco - Hassane Darhmaoui H.Darhmaoui@aui.ma
Poland - Lech Mankiewicz - lech@cft.edu.pl
Portugal - Rosa Doran - rosa.doran@nuclio.pt
Russia - Patrick Fullick patrick@scienceconnections.ru
Spain - Ana Ines Gomes de Castro anai_gomez@mat.ucm.es
UK - Paul Roche - paul.roche@faulkes-telescope.com
USA - Jim Manning - jmanning@astrosociety.org
Philippines - Merle Tan

 

Task force: Organizations

Pedro Russo (IAU/IYA): prusso@eso.org - IAU
Douglas Pierce-Price: dpiercep@eso.org
Carl Pennypacker (GHOU): crpennypacker@lbl.gov
Steve Pompea (NOAO): spompea@noao.edu
Denise Smith (Space Telescope Science Institute): dsmith@stsci.edu
Simon J. Steel (Science Education Department Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics): sjsteel@cfa.harvard.edu
Sotira Trifourki (Association for Astronomy Education - UK) sotira.cosmosmedia@yahoo.com
Robert Hill (NISO) rabhill@hotmail.com
Doug Isbell dougisbell@hotmail.com


publicado por Energias comVida às 16:11
link do post | comentar | favorito
 O que é? |  O que é?

.mais sobre mim

.pesquisar

 

.Abril 2014

Dom
Seg
Ter
Qua
Qui
Sex
Sab

1
2
3
4
5

6
7
8
9
10
11
12

13
14
15
16
17
18
19

20
21
22
23
24
25
26

27
29
30


.posts recentes

. Missão Rosetta: O despert...

. CIÊNCIA VIVA - ESERO

. Apresentação do ESERO Por...

. ...

. ES DANIEL FARIA - BALTAR ...

. Secundária Daniel Faria d...

. Astronomia vs Astrologia

. 23 ABRIL – DIA DA ASTRONO...

. Pés na Terra, Olhos no Cé...

. Astronomia em Crescente 2...

.arquivos

. Abril 2014

. Maio 2010

. Abril 2010

. Dezembro 2009

. Novembro 2009

. Janeiro 2009

. Dezembro 2008

. Junho 2007

blogs SAPO

.subscrever feeds